The book of Genesis is a book of beginnings - the beginning of the world, of the human race, of a man of faith and a family of faith.

It can easily be divided into the lives of the principal characters of the book:

  • Adam - Genesis 1-5
  • Noah - Genesis 6-11
  • Abraham - Genesis 12-25
  • Isaac - Genesis 26
  • Jacob - Genesis 27-36
  • Joseph - Genesis 37-50

Genesis is above all the beginning of God's self-revelation. God reveals both his power and character through his names. It is also the beginning of the revelation of God's plan of salvation for a lost human race.